my experience with two Dimarzios and maybe advice

• 6 Replies

Offline Jerryman

• View Profile
my experience with two Dimarzios and maybe advice
« on: November 16, 2020, 10:17:43 PM »
Just getting back into serious playing , and I have two Floyded Jacksons, one is a FGlame DK2 , and one an old Performer.
In the Performer I have a Transition set. In the Flame DK2 I have a PAF Master. Well, this is mostly regarding bridge position on both.
First off, I play with a lot of controlled, or at least attempted controlled sustained feedback. On the Flame DK2, with the PAF Master, the feedback is absolutely glorious.
ON the PS4 Performer, the feedback is very muted. ( worth mentioning neither gets vaery good feedback above the 12th fret).
Both guitars have very good treble bite, and I am pleased with that. However the PAF Master bridge, as nice as it is, lacks a certain weight that the Transition set has.
I guess what I'm driving at is that is there a Dimarzio that has the weight of the Transitions and also the sweet mid focused feedback of the PAF Master, or is it a case of you can't have your cake and eat it too? IDK. Thank\s, nice to see you all again here.
The Norton won't tame anything.  A fantastic pickup, it will make your LP sound like a wild mongoose who is piloting a F-22 raptor and smoking crystal meth

Offline darkbluemurder

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: my experience with two Dimarzios and maybe advice
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2020, 02:28:17 AM »
It sounds like you want something close to a PAF tone but with more output. In the DiMarzio line up that is probably the Norton.
Unfortunately I do not have a direct comparison as I never played the Transition or the PAF Master.

Cheers Stephan