your first guitar idol?

• 49 Replies

alfaromeo90

your first guitar idol?
« on: September 15, 2009, 05:59:14 PM »
hey guys, who was your first favorite guitarist?

before i played guitar = john frusciante

when i started = eddie van halen

Offline FeinMusic

• View Profile
    • The Spines
Re: your first guitar idol?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 08:25:50 AM »
I'll come clean as a big follower of Tom DeLonge  at first.  Then when I started playing it was John Frusciante.  Right now I'm a pretty big fan of Bumblefoot and Mick Ronson
Don't tease the octopus, boys and girls!

Offline CityofBlindingLights

• *Site Supporter*
  • THIS IS MADNESS
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 08:32:10 PM »
Jimi Hendrix.

Still is.

For a time a few years ago, I was way into Vai and Satch. Not so much anymore. I still dig Satch's music, and the occasional Vai is fun, but I'm done with shredding.

But now I'm also a bigger fan of The Edge from U2, Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead, and David Gilmour.

Offline FeinMusic

• View Profile
    • The Spines
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2009, 11:23:02 AM »
You just reminded me, Nick.  I've been having an obsession with Robin Finck. He's  unfortunately been in an unfair position in the media but he is under rated and really has a great feel and sense of melody kinda like a ballsier Gilmour or a more refined Slash

joelmo

« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2009, 03:04:42 PM »
hi again
when i started it was brian molko from placebo(unusual ahhh).
now there are satch, greg howe and rory gallgher.

alfaromeo90

« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2009, 03:55:50 PM »
thanks, i think it's interesting to look back on your first idols and try to figure out what initially attracted you to guitar.  If you find that your playing is in a rut or gone down a path you no longer like, it's an interesting exercise to go back to your first idols or pre-playing idols and try to get a bit of their playing or tone.  Kind of like a new start.