Lack of sustain on E & B, any advice?

• 23 Replies

jovima69

Lack of sustain on E & B, any advice?
« on: May 18, 2015, 01:38:21 PM »
Hey all,

I installed a Crunchlab/Liquifire 7 set in my RG7321. From the 12th fret to the 24th fret on the high e & b strings, a note will sustain for no more than 2 seconds. Initially after the install, the high e would not sustain at all, but I backed the p/u's off, and the string seemed to "sustain", but to the level it's at now, approx 2 seconds. I am a relative newbie when it comes to guitar maintenance, but I am motivated, and willing to learn. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

Offline greenlion

• View Profile
Re: Lack of sustain on E & B, any advice?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 07:08:22 PM »
The closer you get the pickup magnet to the strings, the more it pulls on the string, slowing its vibration down and killing sustain. Do you have a set-up ruler to accurately measure your pickup height?

jovima69

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2015, 10:28:20 AM »
Thanks for the response. I set the pickup height based on the FAQ's from the DiMarzio site with a machinists rule. I'm not ready to go to the tech just yet... I bought new strings last night, and will see how that affects the sustain.

Offline RayBarbeeMusic

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2015, 07:19:19 PM »
A lot of sustain issues are caused by bad fretwork, specifically not enough fall away. 

Offline greekdude

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2015, 03:07:46 AM »
Hey all,

I installed a Crunchlab/Liquifire 7 set in my RG7321. From the 12th fret to the 24th fret on the high e & b strings, a note will sustain for no more than 2 seconds. Initially after the install, the high e would not sustain at all, but I backed the p/u's off, and the string seemed to "sustain", but to the level it's at now, approx 2 seconds. I am a relative newbie when it comes to guitar maintenance, but I am motivated, and willing to learn. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.