Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
The Pickup Place / Re: Modification of mounting tabs
« Last post by marcwormjim on July 21, 2018, 12:40:53 am »
Instead of reaming the holes for direct mounting I recommend modifying the screws. That way you can use the holes for spring mounting if you wish at a later stage.

I hate it when I buy used pickups where the holes were reamed for direct mounting without telling this fact in the ad. It is not a deal breaker per se but I would like to know before buying.

This is a pet peeve of mine as well - But every direct-mount guitar I own has threaded inserts for the pickup screws; and drilling out the tabs has been the lesser evil.
The Pickup Place / Re: Vintage Dimarzio PAF Pickup
« Last post by yankeerob on July 19, 2018, 10:06:20 pm »
I'm a newbie to the forum but was researching PAFs and came across this thread...

In my experience - the original DiMarzio PAFs are quite a bit different to the new ones - they seemed to have more clarity - it's hard to describe but I think it's what people have come to call transparency.

I couldn't tell you why or discuss the materials, aging of magnets and all that jazz... I just know what I've always heard - in the way of a difference. I always just assumed - rightly or wrongly - that it was more likely to do with the volume of sales.

Whatever the reason - I simply just thought I'd offer my two penneth worth... I also had a very early Pre-B Tele bridge pickup that was massively better than a later one... again no idea why... ;D ;D ;D
« Last post by DarthPhineas on July 19, 2018, 07:46:28 am »
Another possible option

Check out some parts houses (i.e., Mojotone, etc) to source some new baseplates with the proper pole spacing that have the tabs you want. Then itís just a simple solder job that can be reversible.

Or find other pickups that come with the triangle tabs, like Suhr.
« Last post by darkbluemurder on July 19, 2018, 05:37:30 am »