Ibanez RG421AHM pickup options

• 4 Replies

Offline Audiowonderland

• View Profile
Ibanez RG421AHM pickup options
« on: March 09, 2019, 10:36:37 AM »
I just picked up an Ibanez rg421ahm which is an ash bodied hardtail rg with maple neck and fingerboard. I thought it would be a nice alternative voice to my rga42fm. I have a set of breeds and an air zone/air classic set on the shelf that I might put in this guitar. I don't want to lose the brighter/zing quality of the ash, just refine things. The quantum are quite good for stock pickups but they have a piercing quality that is just little too much for my taste. I am concerned the breeds and air zone might be a touch too dark. A set of air classic might be the best option but might be a touch too bright in the bridge.

What do you guys think? I have little experience with ash bodied guitars and I am not sure where to go with this one.

Offline greenlion

• View Profile
Re: Ibanez RG421AHM pickup options
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2019, 08:20:31 PM »
Breeds sound good in alder, so I would bet they would work here too. If you like them, I think they would make a well balanced set here. The Air Zone works in almost anything, and the Air Classic neck would probably work well with it. I have never tried those two together, but i know the Air Zone works well with the 36th neck. My only reservation with that set would be the question of whether the Air Classic would balance in output, and not have too much of a contrast in feel. It has been a very long time since I played an Air Classic.

Offline Audiowonderland

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2019, 08:14:09 PM »